It was built in 1082 by Count Robert de Mortain, half brother of William the Conqueror. Only the Romanesque doorway remains from this period. This outstanding example of Anglo-Norman Gothic architecture was rebuilt in the 13th century. It shelters a treasure unique in the world, the Chrismal, a eucharistic receptacle dating back to the 8th century and a 10th century evangeliary.
La Collégiale Saint-Evroult
Lieu MORTAIN-BOCAGE
Religious buildings
Informations for groups
- Number of persons
- from 10 to 40 pers
- Type of visit
- Permanent open visit, Guided visit on request
- Average duration
- 1h
- Bus parking
- Bus parking nearby
Access and location
Adress
MORTAIN
50140 MORTAIN-BOCAGE
Contact
La Collégiale Saint-Evroult