Château des Matignon

Lieu TORIGNY-LES-VILLES
Castels
Château des Matignon
Castels
Lieu TORIGNY-LES-VILLES

This castle of the 16th and 17th centuries comprises three wings built around a main courtyard which opens to the west onto the Cour aux Canons.

Located at Torigni-sur-Vire, the ancient fiefdom of two descendants of William the Conqueror, this beautiful dwelling belonged to the famous Matignon family for more than three centuries. It suffered substantial damage during the Revolution. Flanked by an armoured pavilion which was added in 1962 on its west side, the south wing is the only part to have survived post-revolutionary deterioration. In 1817, it was purchased by the municipality who, in 1840, had the east pavilion built to reestablish the architectural balance.

On 12 June 1944, after Torigni town centre was bombarded, only the four walls of the castle remained. The efforts of successive town councils to restore the castle, while not returning it to its original splendour, have ensured that it remains an impressive Historic Monument.

Today, the castle houses the council services, a meeting room and two reception rooms. The gallery on the 1st floor regularly hosts temporary exhibitions and themed displays (paintings, photographs, postcards, etc.).

Pratical informations

Equipements, services & comfort elements

  • Picnic area
  • Outdoor games
  • Parking for families
  • Toilets
  • Play area

Informations for groups

Group type
Associations, Pensioners, Works committees, Students, Professional, Young-at-heart seniors
Type of visit
Guided visit on request
Average duration
2h
Bus parking
Bus parking on site, Bus parking nearby

Access and location

Adress

Place Général de Gaulle
TORIGNI-SUR-VIRE
50160 TORIGNY-LES-VILLES

Contact

Château des Matignon
Château des Matignon
Castels
Lieu TORIGNY-LES-VILLES