Our Lady of Hambye Abbey was founded in 1145 along the river Sienne by Guillaume Painel, lord of Hambye. The abbey hosts Benedictine monks until the French Revolution. Partly dismantled in the 19th century, the abbey was saved in 1956 through the acquisition of the monastic buildings by Mr and Mrs Beck. The abbey church, the gatehouse and the lay brothers’ building were bought by the County Council of la Manche in 1964. Considerable works to restore and stabilize the remains of the abbey were undertaken. For more than 50 years the aim has been to preserve the dignity and beauty of the site and to improve its integration into the serenity of its fragile natural surroundings.
For a moment out of time, stroll through the monks’ old cloister at the foot of the church's imposing ruins, admire the fine architecture of the chapter house, jewel of norman gothic architecture and linger in the shade of Virginia tulip trees in the Eastern garden.
Protected as sensitive natural areas, the surroundings of the abbey offer multiple hiking trails to discover.
Throughout the summer, exhibitions and various workshops take place as well as concerts of medieval and sacred music.
Abbaye de Hambye
Lieu HAMBYE
Religious buildings
Pratical informations
Equipements, services & comfort elements
Prices
- Offre de base Minimum Maximum
- Rate for adult group 4€
- Rate for adult group 6€
- School group rate 2.50€
- School group rate 3.50€ 9€
Informations for groups
- Number of persons
- from 15 to 100 pers
- Group type
- Associations, Pensioners, Works committees, Students, Other organised groups, Professional, Educational, Sporting, Young-at-heart seniors
- Type of visit
- Permanent open visit, Open visit on request, Guided visit on request, Educational visit on request
- Average duration
- 1h15
- Bus parking
- Bus parking on site, Bus parking, Bus parking nearby
Access and location
Adress
Route de l'Abbaye
50450 HAMBYE
Contact
Abbaye de Hambye
Languages :